Website Design

April 13, 2008 at 6:05 pm 2 comments

So, I finally broke down and started learning CSS. Mostly I have this post to thank for the inspiration (my favorite is the Web Designer Wall), and this W3Schools chart and this blog for help. 

Also, see this one with other general tips for website design.

My question remains, what size is really maximum size? I mean, how many people truly still view only at 800×600?? I’m thinking only the elderly that are also still on dial-up, and for me, that’s not even close to my target audience. However, I may be designing websites this summer, either part-time or just freelance. Any insight into maximum site width would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

Entry filed under: technology, Thoughts/Comments/Ideas. Tags: , , , .

Digital Advertising “Wow, that’s my kind of flower!”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacob Gube  |  April 13, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Hey Stephanie,
    First, I’m glad that you liked my post and that it has inspired you to pick up CSS.

    To answer your question, unless you want to design for absolute worst-case scenarios, I would design for 1024×768 as the minimum, but do go up depending on what the users of the websites typically use. See what the majority of your users use by running a statistics-gathering application such as Google Analytics.

    I should really be suggesting the use of elastic layouts (one which adjusts depending on the user’s monitor size), but I do see that it’s more complicated than fixed-width layouts.

    If you’re looking for a good book on CSS, try “CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions” by Andy Budd et. al.

    Best,
    Jacob

    Reply
  • 2. website design  |  April 14, 2008 at 4:03 am

    This should makes us think that footers, even looking insignificant at the bottom of the websites, should not be taken for granted but to maximize the overall website design.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About the Author

Stephanie Scharf currently resides in Lincoln, NE. She attends the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and is studying Advertising with an emphasis on graphic and web design. Her time is split between working on school and client projects, hangin' with friends, and "geeking out" by reading up on the latest in web and social media trends. For more information, please visit the About page.

Please e-mail Stephanie your suggestions of topics you'd like to see on this blog!

Subscribe & Share

Bookmark and Share

Visit My Website!

Hosting my Portfolio and complete list of Design Services!

Recent Twitterings

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Visitor Count

  • 139,168 hits

