New Business Card

June 28, 2009 at 2:46 pm 5 comments

Why a New Card?

When I redesigned my website, I also knew I would need to redesign my business cards to match. Since the design of my last site/card, I have seen a lot of cool cards, and I realized that as a creative I needed even my business card material to be creative, not just classic cardstock.

Meaning of the Red Balloon

As I designed my site, red balloons became a focal element. My balloons are red because I chose red as the primary color in my scheme, and they are completely unrelated to Nena’s 99. I chose the symbol of the balloon because it invokes feelings of childish freedom and imagination, and I belive that much creativity comes from allowing ourselves a bit of childish abandon. A held balloon is as free as it is grounded, and I work in much the same way: I enjoy taking my creativity to new heights, while at the same time practicing consistency and sensibility.

Card Materials

I decided rather quickly that I wanted my card to have an interactive element, which is the function of the red balloon. But I also knew I couldn’t just hand out balloons, so after much comparison shopping I settled on 3.5×2.5″ resealable ClearBags, and clear labels which the local awards/specialty shop Rixstine’s helped me find. Balloons were easily secured at the nearest party shop.Β  All in all, my new business cards cost around $125 for 500 impressions. Not too bad for what should be a more memorable business card!

Making of the Cards

cardsuppliescardstickercardballooncardfinal

Entry filed under: business card, Graphic Design - Logo/Layout. Tags: , , , , , , .

Twitter Guide Book – How To, Tips and Instructions by Mashable Simple & Effective Web Design Client Questionnaire

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brad Coughlin  |  June 28, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Good thing you don’t have to try to fit these in a wallet : )

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa  |  June 28, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I agree with Brad! lol I like the idea, and the execution is well done. My only problem is thinking people will take the balloon and thow away the bag. I know when someone gives me a business card, and I like their business, I keep the card in my wallet for reference or even to pass on to others who may be interested. That is the only issue I see with yours. A big plus is that people will be more likely to want to have them. People can’t keep their paws off of free items. BWAHAHA LOL GIGGLE (^_^)

    Reply
    • 3. 5t3ph  |  June 28, 2009 at 4:19 pm

      Thanks! Actually, it’s only about half an inch wider than a regular card, and it squishes flat with no problem…sooo I don’t think it’ll be too bad! πŸ™‚ And if you do play with the balloon, the white is still visible on the bag if you should chose to pass it on to others πŸ˜‰

      On another note… Should I start a blog post where we can compile and categorize online laughs? Create an “online laugh dictionary” of sorts? πŸ˜‰ “tee hee”

      Reply
  • 4. Lisa  |  June 28, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    HoHo!

    Reply
  • 5. Deb  |  June 30, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    These are freakin’ awesome, Steph!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About the Author

Stephanie Scharf currently resides in Lincoln, NE. She attends the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and is studying Advertising with an emphasis on graphic and web design. Her time is split between working on school and client projects, hangin' with friends, and "geeking out" by reading up on the latest in web and social media trends. For more information, please visit the About page.

Please e-mail Stephanie your suggestions of topics you'd like to see on this blog!

Subscribe & Share

Bookmark and Share

Visit My Website!

Hosting my Portfolio and complete list of Design Services!

Recent Twitterings

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Visitor Count

  • 139,168 hits

